HEFCW Council and Committees

Our Council, of up to 12 members, focuses on strategic policy issues, major matters of substance and significance and maintaining oversight of our activities. Committees have been established to advise Council on particular areas of work.

We hold around eight Council meetings per calendar year. We also follow a cycle of visits to institutions and host a number of committee meetings and events.

2020 Timetable of Council and committee meetings and events

All our Council business is conducted in accordance with its Standing Orders.

Useful documents

Scheme of delegation
Framework Document
Council and Committee members travel and subsistence policy

Council members

Upon appointment, Council members sign the HEFCW Council Members Code of Conduct, which includes an agreement to adhere to the Seven Principles of Public Life.

Council and Committee members are required to complete a declaration of interests form for the public register. A biography and the registered interests of each Council member is available by clicking on the member’s name.


David Allen
Former Registrar and Deputy Chief Executive, University of Exeter

Chief Executive

Dr David Blaney


Professor Aaqil Ahmed
Professor of Media, University of Bolton and former Head of Religion and Ethics at BBC and Channel 4
Professor Tracy Bhamra
Pro Vice-Chancellor, Loughborough University
James Davies
Executive Chair, Industry Wales
Professor Christine Ennew
Provost, University of Warwick
Dr John Graystone
Education consultant and former Chief Executive of Colegau Cymru/Colleges Wales
Dr Peter Higson
Former senior civil servant
Charlotte Hitchings
Chair, Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust
Rob Humphreys
Former Director of The Open University in Wales
Professor Helen Marshall
Vice-Chancellor, University of Salford
Professor Mark Smith
Vice-Chancellor, University of Southampton