Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

University of South Wales

AddressLlantwit Road
Rhondda Cynon Taf
CF37 1DL
Telephone01443 480480
Vice-Chancellor and Chief ExecutiveProfessor Julie Lydon
Chair of GovernorsProfessor Michael Gunn

The University of South Wales was formed in April 2013 following the merger of the University of Glamorgan and the University of Wales, Newport.

University of Glamorgan

University of Wales, Newport


The University is mainly located in Treforest, Pontypridd. In addition, it has campuses at Glyntaff (Faculty of Health, Sport and Science) and in Merthyr Tydfil (Faculty of Further Education). In September 2007, the University opened a new campus in central Cardiff - named “ATRiuM” - to house the Cardiff School of Creative & Cultural Industries. The City Campus in the heart of Newport city centre houses the University's Faculty of Arts and Business. City Campus has the focus of bringing together business, creative subjects and entrepreneurship activity.

Academic profile 2016/17 (Source: HEFCW End of Year Monitoring Survey)
Total student enrolments22,480
Full-time student enrolments15,620
Sandwich year out student enrolments70
Part-time student enrolments6,790

Note: data is subject to rounding.

Data disclosure control policy and procedure

Skip to top of page or to page menu