Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

SA31 3EP
Telephone01267 676767
Vice-ChancellorProfessor Medwin Hughes
Chair of CouncilThe Venerable Randolph Thomas
University of Wales Trinity Saint David

The University of Wales Trinity Saint David was created through the merger of three of the oldest higher education institutions in Wales - the University of Wales, Lampeter, Trinity University College Carmarthen and Swansea Metropolitan University.

History of University of Wales, Lampeter

The University of Wales, Lampeter was the oldest University institution in Wales. It was formally opened in 1827 as St David's College. It received Royal Charters permitting it to award its own degrees in 1852 and 1865. In 1971, it became a part of the University of Wales, originally holding its degree awarding powers in abeyance. In 2009, the University committed to work with Trinity University College to create a new university.

History of Trinity University College

Established in 1848 to train teachers for Church Schools, Trinity was the only University Church College in Wales and traditionally offered vocationally focused degree programmes through the medium of English, Welsh or bilingually. The University College saw itself as a community university that served the needs of Wales and beyond. It developed an international dimension through links in the USA, China and Japan, in particular.

History of Swansea Metropolitan University

Swansea Metropolitan has been a major centre for the delivery of vocational higher education since 1853. It employs more than 500 staff and teaches more than 6,500 students. The University was formed from the three former Swansea colleges of Art, Teacher Education and Technology which were founded in 1853, 1872 and 1897 respectively. Swansea Metropolitan merged with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David on 1 August 2013.


The University of Wales Trinity Saint David is based on three campuses in South West Wales and also has a campus in London for international students. The Carmarthen campus is in Carmarthenshire and the Lampeter Campus in the county of Ceredigion. Swansea is a city centre-based urban campus in Wales’s second largest city.

Academic profile 2016/17 (Source: HEFCW End of Year Monitoring Survey) 
Total student enrolments8,305
Full-time student enrolments5,785
Sandwich year out student enrolments0
Part-time student enrolments2,520

Note: data is subject to rounding.

Data disclosure control policy and procedure

Skip to top of page or to page menu