Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

Bangor University

AddressCollege Road
LL57 2DG
Telephone01248 351151
Vice-ChancellorProfessor Iwan Davies
Chair of CouncilMarion Wyn Jones

Bangor University was established in 1884 (its original title was ‘University College of North Wales’) as a direct result of a campaign in the late 19th century for better higher education provision in Wales. In 1977 St Mary’s College Bangor, an Anglican teacher training institution, merged with the University, and in 1996, the University integrated with the Coleg Normal Bangor, which had been established in 1858, originally to train teachers. Finally, in 2007, the University name was changed to ‘Bangor University’ following the granting of Taught and Research Degree Awarding Powers by the Privy Council.


The main University is located in the city of Bangor close to the Menai Straits and Snowdonia .

Academic profile 2016/17 (Source: HEFCW End of Year Monitoring Survey) 
Total student enrolments10,285
Full-time student enrolments8,860
Sandwich year out student enrolments120
Part-time student enrolments1,305

Note: data is subject to rounding.

Data disclosure control policy and procedure

Skip to top of page or to page menu