Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

HEFCW Council member biography

Professor Robin Williams CBE, FRS

Professor Robin Williams

Appointment: 1 August 2009 to 31 July 2012; 1 August 2012 to 31 July 2015; 1 August 2015 to 31 July 2018

Professor Robin Williams was Vice-Chancellor of Swansea University from 1994 until 2003. Prior to that he was Head of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Cardiff University where he also held the position of Vice Principal. His research interests are mainly in the areas of semiconductor physics, advanced electronic devices and nanotechnology where he has published over 300 academic papers and books. Much of his research involved collaboration with industry world-wide and he has chaired a broad range of national and international committees in physics and engineering, including those of the UK Research Councils.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and was awarded the CBE in 2004 for his contribution to research and to higher education. He has served on the Ministerial Advisory Groups for economic development and for education in Wales and was a member of the group established to review higher education. He is a Welsh speaker and in 2008/09 chaired the Planning Board established to produce an independent report on a model for the ‘Coleg Ffederal’, now established as Y Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol.

Professor Williams acted as Chair of the first phase of the Sêr Cymru programme. He is currently a member of the Council of the Learned Society of Wales, the Innovation Advisory Council for Wales and is Chair of the Science Advisory Council.

Declared interests
Organisation in which interest existsNature of interest
1. Swansea UniversityEmeritus Professor; Member, External Advisory Group for Engineering; Honorary Fellow; Daughter employed by the University
2. Aberystwyth UniversityHonorary Fellow
Member Elect of Council (from 1 August 2018)
3. Bangor UniversityHonorary Fellow
4. Cardiff UniversityHonorary Fellow
5. University of WalesEmeritus Professor; Honorary Doctorate
6. Coleg Cymraeg CenedlaetholHonorary Fellow
7. The Learned Society for WalesMember of Council
8. Science Advisory Council for WalesChair of Council
9. TechniquestFormer Council Member and Vice-Chair
10. Innovation Advisory Council for WalesCouncil Member
11. Welsh Government, Department of Health and Social Care: Health Professional Education Investment ReviewChair of Group to advise on review implementation

Council members

Skip to top of page or to page menu