Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

HEFCW Council member biography

David Allen OBE - Chair

Mr David Allen

Appointment: 1 December 2008 to 30 November 2011; 1 December 2011 to 30 November 2014.

Chair of Council: 5 May 2014 to 4 May 2017; 5 May 2017 to 4 May 2020.

David Allen OBE was Registrar and Deputy Chief Executive of the University of Exeter between 2009 and 2013, having been Registrar and Secretary since 2003, where he was responsible for the effective and efficient operations and governance of the University, deputising for the Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive as necessary. He previously held similar positions at the universities of Birmingham and Nottingham.

In December 2008 he was appointed a member of the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW). He was also a member of the Leadership, Governance and Management Committee of the Higher Education Funding Council for England. David also served on the Board of the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education (2004-2010) and chaired its Audit Committee. He is a former Board member of the Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership and from 2006-2009 chaired a Steering Group of partners to plan and fund Exeter Science Park. He is a Vice-Chair of South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, Chair of Torbay Pharmaceuticals and Chair of Exeter College (from July 2017).

He is the only person to have chaired both the Association of University Administrators (AUA) (1998-2000) and the Association of Heads of University Administration (AHUA) (2003-2006). He was a member of the Higher Education Regulatory Review Group (2006-2008). He was a Foundation Governor of the King Edward VI Schools Foundation (1998-2003) and chaired the Russell Group Registrars’ meetings from its inauguration in 2001.

David was awarded an OBE for services to higher education in the 2012 New Year’s Honours List, and was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws by the University of Exeter in 2013.

Declared interests
Organisation in which interest existsNature of interest
1. Exeter CollegeChair
2. South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation TrustVice-Chair
3. Leadership Foundation for Higher EducationAssociate (no consultancy work in Wales)

Council members

Skip to top of page or to page menu