Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

HEFCW Council member biography

Dr Arun Midha

Dr Arun Midha

Appointment: 7 April 2015 to 6 April 2018

Dr Arun Midha read Politics at Swansea University before gaining a diploma in Social Studies at Oxford University. He was awarded an MBA from Cardiff University, and also a PhD from Swansea University. He began his career with Lloyds Bank then become Commerce and Industry Advisor with the Health Promotion Authority for Wales in 1990. Arun joined University of Wales College of Medicine in 1994, managing the public health medicine specialist registrar training scheme in Wales. His most recent executive role was Director of Strategy and Resources in a School at Cardiff University involving junior doctor and dentist training in Wales. He was also a member of Cardiff University's Senate.

Arun has held numerous public roles including Lay membership of the General Medical Council (where he also served as its Treasurer and Chair of Resources and was a member of its Education committee), the Postgraduate Medical Education Training Board, Health Professions Council and Welsh Language Board. He has been a JP and was High Sheriff of South Glamorgan in 2012. Arun has been a strategic adviser to Swansea University and also sat on Swansea University’s Council.

He has been nominated as a Lay Member of the Committee on Standards, House of Commons and is currently Chair of Retrospective Continuing Healthcare reviews in Wales; Lay Member, General Pharmaceutical Council; Case examiner with the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons; Member of the Bar Standards Board professional conduct committee; and an Assessor of The Queen’s Anniversary Prizes for Further and Higher Education. He is a Governor at Ysgol Gyfun Plasmawr. A former Welsh Rugby Union referee, Arun is also a Trustee of the Welsh Rugby Charitable Trust.

Declared interests
Organisation in which interest existsNature of interest
1. Welsh GovernmentIndependent Chair, Retrospective Continuing Healthcare reviews in Wales
2. Bar Standards Board, Professional Conduct CommitteeLay member
3. Royal College of Veterinary SurgeonsCase examiner of complaints
4. Committee on Standards, House of CommonsLay Member in Nomination
5. Queen’s Anniversary Prizes for Further and Higher EducationAssessor
6. Ysgol Gyfun PlasmawrGovernor
7. Welsh Rugby Charitable TrustTrustee and Honorary Secretary
8. Cardiff UniversityPartner employed by University
9. WJECMember, Malpractice Panel
10. General Pharmaceutical CouncilLay Member

Council members

Skip to top of page or to page menu