Skip to page content

Student Opportunity and Achievement Committee


Professor Sir Keith Burnett, Council (Chair)
James Davies, Council
Sarah John, Council
Rob Humphreys, Council
Professor Cara Aitchison, Cardiff Metropolitan University
Dr Ben Calvert, University of South Wales
Stephen Griffiths, Director, Workforce, Education and Development Services
Louise Casella, The Open University
Jon Howden-Evans, Swansea University
Gwyneth Sweatman, National Union of Students Wales
Ewart Keep, Skills and employability representative
Ioan Matthews, Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol
Jake Smith, part-time student representative
Martin Stringer, Swansea University
Chris Taylor, Cardiff University
Professor Claire Taylor, Wrexham Glynd┼Ár University
Ryan Jarvis, Gower College Swansea

Kieron Rees, Universities Wales
Ruth Hayton, Welsh Government

HEFCW officers
Celia Hunt, Director of Strategic Development
Dr Cliona O'Neill, Head of Student Experience
Jane Johns, Head of Widening Access and Inclusion
Emma Mock, Senior Project Manager

Student Opportunity and Achievement Committee remit

The Student Opportunity and Achievement Committee was created in 2015. Minutes of the meetings of its predecessor, the Student Experience Teaching and Engagement Committee, have been archived.

Skip to top of page or to page menu