Skip to page content
This is a placeholder image

Cardiff University

AddressMain Building
Museum Avenue
CF10 3AT
Telephone029 2087 4000
Fax029 2087 4879
Vice-Chancellor and PresidentProfessor Colin Riordan
Chairman of CouncilMr John Jeans

The origins of Cardiff University date from the University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire which was founded in 1883, changing its name to University College Cardiff in 1972. It became the University of Wales College of Cardiff upon merger with UWIST in 1988, then University of Wales, Cardiff and is now Cardiff University. The University celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2008. In 2004 the then University of Wales College of Medicine, (being established as the Welsh National School of Medicine in 1931) merged with Cardiff University.


The main buildings are located in Cardiff's civic centre at Cathays Park, in Colum Drive, Newport Road (collectively known as the Cathays Park Campus) and at Heath Park (the Heath Park Campus).

Vision and Mission

Cardiff University's vision: "Our vision is to be one of the world’s leading universities with an academic community recognised for its international distinction and impact. Academic excellence rooted in world-leading research and scholarship is an absolute priority. From this excellence we will continue to demonstrate the impact of our work for the advancement of knowledge, for our students and for our communities."

Cardiff University's mission: "Our mission is to pursue research, learning and teaching of international distinction and impact."

Academic profile 2012/13 (Source: HEFCW End of Year Monitoring Survey) 
Total students26,007
Full-time students19,386
Sandwich year out students416
Part-time students6,205
Skip to top of page or to page menu